Edward Cerantonio is one of the GISS players that moved to Beretti Varese this year. We met him and had a little talk with him. Enjoy this brief conversation about his past experiences, his future career and his dreams.


  To start, tell us who you are and where you come from.
Hi, my name is Edward Cerantonio; I am 18 years old and I was born in Australia. I started playing soccer when I was 5 years old. From the very first time I walked onto the pitch I knew this was the path I wanted to take. I was always playing soccer if it was at school or in the back yard its what I always wanted to do. Last year I was with Savona. My time there made me a much stronger person and made me work harder to get to where I am today. Now I am playing with Varese.


  What kind of player are you? Tell us your best trait on the pitch and where you think you need to improve most
I play as a right back or center back. I think my best trait is to hold my position and give no space to my opposition. The things I need to improve on in my game is my technical skill and knowing to when to make that overlapping run as sometimes I make it too late or too early.


  How has your Italian experience in GISS been?
My Italian experience with GISS has been brilliant but a lot of hard work at the same time. At the academy you train 5 times a week like a true professional club, and also play against some of the best youth teams in Italy such as Genova, Inter, Torino, Savona, Cheivo and the list goes on. It’s a very professional environment and I recommend it to people that want to follow their dreams in making a pro soccer player.


What do you think of Italian football? Will it be important for you to learn the Italian way of playing?
I think Italian football is a very defensive game, where they play the ball out from the back and like you to hold your position. It will be very important for me to learn the Italian style of play as I am a defender and they concentrate a lot on the structure of the game.


How were your first days in Varese?
My first days at Varese were good as I already had some of the boys from the academy there. But the other boys from the team were just as nice and friendly as the boys I knew. The coach was really welcoming and made sure you are looked after. It’s a big football family.


  What do you wish for your career? What is your dream?
My short-term goal in my career is to be playing inSerie A or Serie B in the next couple of years. My medium-term goal would be to represent my countryAustralia in the national team.